Award Cri­ter­ia:


The jury will con­sider the com­pleted Pass­ive House pro­jects and the con­text they were de­signed and con­struc­ted in. An em­phas­is will be put on the ar­chi­tec­tur­al design, in­clud­ing all en­ergy ef­fi­ciency as­pects. Cost ef­fi­ciency will be con­sidered in re­la­tion to loc­al stand­ar­ds. Cli­mate con­sid­er­a­tions, leg­al hurdles and oth­er chal­lenges will also be in­cluded in the ev­al­u­ation. The abil­ity to rep­lic­ate a pro­ject is also im­port­ant - in the case of neigh­bour­hoods, for ex­ample, with re­gard to polit­ic­al re­quire­ments or fin­an­cial in­cent­ives.

Sub­mis­sion Cri­ter­ia:

The award has an in­ter­na­tion­al fo­cus; all build­ing types may be sub­mit­ted. The com­pet­i­tion aims to award prizes to par­tic­u­larly well-de­signed Pass­ive House build­ings and their de­sign­ers.

Con­di­tions of par­ti­cip­a­tion:

The pro­ject ar­chi­tect / de­sign­er should make the sub­mis­sion.

All build­ings cer­ti­fied as Pass­ive House, Low En­ergy Build­ing or En­erPHit and in use be­fore spring 2021 can par­ti­cip­ate.

Dis­tricts can par­ti­cip­ate even if they are still in the de­vel­op­ment phase. The de­cis­ive factor here is, above all, an in­teg­rated en­ergy sup­ply concept with a fo­cus on en­ergy ef­fi­ciency. The pro­ject must also be re­gistered in the Pass­ive House data­base at:

All build­ings that re­ceived an award in one of the pre­vi­ous Pass­ive House Awards (2014 Pass­ive House Award, Ar­chitek­tur­pre­is 2010 Passivhaus) are ex­cluded from par­ti­cip­a­tion. The ex­act com­pet­i­tion cat­egor­ies will be de­term­in­ed by the jury de­pend­ing on the sub­mis­sions.

These con­di­tions also ap­ply to the spe­cial awards.

Sub­mis­sion dead­line:

The sub­mis­sion of entries is pos­sible un­til June 01, 2021.

Ex­clu­sion of leg­al re­course and li­ab­il­ity:

Leg­al re­course is ex­cluded. Any claims for dam­ages against the Pass­ive House In­sti­tu­te and/or the mem­bers of the jury are ex­cluded.